Tuesday, September 30, 2014 | 7:13 AM
Whatever the topic—from futebol to horror movies—there was a place for you to connect with others who shared your passions. And now you can go back and revisit them anytime. These conversations don’t just represent a history of Orkut, but will serve as an important time capsule of the early history of the social web. Of course, if you don't want your posts or name to be included in the Archive, you can remove Orkut permanently from your Google account at any time.
And, while you won’t be able to access Orkut itself anymore, users can still export their profile data, community posts and photos using Google Takeout (available until September 2016). Please visit our Help Center for further details.
Orkut’s history is a sign of a great future, as the web explodes every day with new and great options for social interaction. We hope that the decades to come will be filled with even more of the connections, communities, and conversations that made Orkut special.
Posted by Paulo Golgher, Engineering Director